Ascending Half Dome -- Yosemite tips wanted [edited title]

Well, the lottery results are in, and it seems me and the missus will be heading up Half Dome this year. Yea! <happy dance>

Did anyone else sign up for the lottery?

Does anyone have experience with the hike? Any gotchas I should know? Great places to rest? Especially beautiful views not to miss? General information about the park?

This will be our first time there, and I’m a photographer, so any newbie tips would be appreciated! Any and all info welcome.

Lots of water. Unless you carry a filter pump, there’s no source of water once you’re on the trail. The last time I went, I had almost two gallons and I was sucking drops at the end.

Gloves-the kind with the rubbery, grippy stuff is best. Donate to the pile when you come down off the cables.

I did the hike in running shoes but it depends on what you’re used to.

Soles with good traction is a must, you’ll be on open granite for a stretch before reaching the saddle below the cables.

We did Enchanted Rock last weekend, and I think my hiking boots did a pretty good job handling the granite. We’re going to get her some boots with ankle support this weekend; right now she just has hiking shoes.

I’ve been up there a couple of times. The trail runs along the river for a bit above Emerald Pools, so that’s the last chance to get water if you have some kind of purification system.

Of course you want to start as early as possible and get up there before the crowds show up. I haven’t been since they started issuing permits, but I can say the cables are a lot less scary if you don’t have to dodge a bunch of your fellow white-knuckled hikers. Some people like to take some kind of gloves to use on the cables; when I was there there was a pile of them at the first stanchion.