Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2013, 10:53 AM
Whack-a-Mole Whack-a-Mole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 18,721
Where can I get high speed internet access in Chicago?

I currently have AT&T DSL service. They tell me I can get 12mbps down (within range of the CO) but after trying that all they can manage is 6mbps down.

I absolutely do NOT want to go with Comcast or RCN! Apart from despising the cable companies my coax in my place is connected to a Direct TV satellite dish.

I am willing to pay rates higher than AT&T.

Who else can I get internet access from in Chicago?
Advertisements  
  #2  
Old 01-29-2013, 01:31 PM
Czarcasm Czarcasm is offline
Charter Member
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Beervania
Posts: 52,794
Have you looked into 12Global?
  #3  
Old 01-29-2013, 01:47 PM
Czarcasm Czarcasm is offline
Charter Member
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Beervania
Posts: 52,794
I believe MegaPath is in Chicago, also.
  #4  
Old 01-29-2013, 02:51 PM
Rachellelogram Rachellelogram is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10,102
Every house I've rented from in the burbs (5 separate places now, in multiple cities) has had AT&T DSL. It's been equally shitty everywhere: daily disconnects all over the place even through a direct ethernet connection, never living up to the rated bandwidth. Blah!

Anyway, just throwing in my support, and hoping to hear about a good non-Comcast alternative as well.
  #5  
Old 01-29-2013, 11:35 PM
Mr Downtown Mr Downtown is offline
Chicago Savant
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,172
You may oppose RCN on principle, but I've not had any serious trouble and for $23 I get 24MB down (according to the AT&T speed test).
  #6  
Old 01-30-2013, 09:03 AM
Whack-a-Mole Whack-a-Mole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 18,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachellelogram View Post
Every house I've rented from in the burbs (5 separate places now, in multiple cities) has had AT&T DSL. It's been equally shitty everywhere: daily disconnects all over the place even through a direct ethernet connection, never living up to the rated bandwidth. Blah!
I had AT&T DSL with a 2-Wire router and while not exactly speedy it was rock solid. Then AT&T said I could double my speed moving to their Uverse thing (still DSL). Got the new stuff and the DSL doubled to 12mbps...worked for a week and then had consistent problems. Although they said I was well within the range for the advertised speed something else was up and they backed me down to 6mbps.

Now the damn thing goes out several times a day requiring a reboot of the router. We have had six techs out (at different times) all of whom confirm there is a problem with the AT&T outside wiring (i.e. not a problem in my place) and all of whom then leave and do not fix anything. Just a promise they will put a "note" in the system and someone else will get to it. Needless to say they never do.

On the upside I will say calling their tech support is not bad at all. I get a person on the line within two minutes and they dispatch a tech almost always within the following day and the techs are pretty punctual.
  #7  
Old 01-30-2013, 10:02 PM
gotpasswords gotpasswords is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: San Francisco area
Posts: 16,097
The Uverse people don't really talk to the phone line people. Call the Uverse support people and ask them to open a ticket to wireline repair to find and remove bridge taps on your line.

Uverse is nice when it works, but getting it to work can be a serious pain. IIRC, the bare minimum link speed you need is 32 meg, and my line is running at 58 meg right now.
  #8  
Old 02-01-2013, 12:29 AM
Spectre of Pithecanthropus Spectre of Pithecanthropus is offline
Charter Member
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Not here. There.
Posts: 18,665
Does Time Warner have an affiliate in Chicago? Here in L.A., I just changed from AT&T DSL to TW Cable, about quintupling our download speed while cutting our bill considerably. We did give up our land line in the process, but we weren't using it anyhow.
  #9  
Old 02-01-2013, 02:14 PM
kenobi 65 kenobi 65 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Brookfield, IL
Posts: 10,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectre of Pithecanthropus View Post
Does Time Warner have an affiliate in Chicago?
I don't think so. AFAICT, Comcast (and, in the city, RCN) is pretty much the only cable TV outfit in the Chicago market now. IIRC, we had Time Warner when we moved to Brookfield in the mid-90s, but Comcast bought out their presence in the market a few years later.
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright 2017 Sun-Times Media, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017