Ask the exhausted grad student

Well, what the hell. I’m looking for an excuse to procrastinate.

Just in case these things might be of any interest to anyone–I’m recovering from damage to the nerve that controls your sense of balance in my right ear, and I just had my landlady evict my roommate.

Feel free to ask me questions on any subject. Any at all.

No guarantee I’ll give you a prompt response, but I’ll do my best.

–Scribble.

Why is the sky blue?

Because it reflects the sea, of course.

What are you studying? Is the GMAT hard? Why did you go to graduate school? Should I have gone? I’d like to be more educated, but since I’m not in academia, I didn’t think an advanced degree in English and/or political science would do me a bit of good (those are my undergrad majors). Do you eat balanced meals? Who does your laundry?

:smiley:

Ooh, can I play? I’m an exhausted procrastinating grad student too…

WesTheMess: I don’t know about the sky, but here is what happened to violets:

Love on a day, wise poets tell,
Some time in wrangling spent,
Whether the violets should excel
Or she, in sweetest scent.

But Venus having lost the day,
Poor girls, she fell on you :
And beat ye so, as some dare say,
Her blows did make ye blue.
– Robert Herrick

Ellen:
English. I don’t know (I only took the GRE). They paid me. No. Yes, as long as one recognizes that the major food groups are garlic, pasta, and beer. What’s laundry?

Who makes the best pizza?

As yet another tired GTA-

somebody else

:slight_smile:

How do you really feel about the students in the classes you TA? Are we fun to talk to, or annoying pests who don’t turn our homework in on time (sorry about that)?

Another tired grad student here. I’d ask you something, but I don’t have the energy or a coherent thought in my head to spare.