10 Greatest Cartoon Series of All Time

What would you choose as the 10 greatest cartoon series of all time? I’m talking about judging them on originality, artistry, humor, sheer viewing pleasure, most incisive/acerbic, most disturbing, whatever. The only guideline is limit your selection to 10.

Okay, though I’m no expert, here are some of mine, in no particular order:

1. Road Runner
  2. The Simpsons
  3. The Bullwinkle Adventure Hour
  4. Space Ghost
  5. Jonny Quest (the original)
  6. Rolie Polie Olie (great toddler toon)
  7. The New Adventures of Winnie the Pooh (before 3-D)
  8. Speed Racer (maybe)
  9. Scooby Doo (earlier years)
    10)Dudley Doo-Right

I know I’m forgetting a few. For reference, here’s the definitive list of cartoons from the 1950s forward: http://www.yesterdayland.com

1. Simpsons
  2. Futurama (the other Simpsons)
  3. Scooby Doo (despite the animosity generated towards it in the GD thread a few months ago, it has a soft spot in my heart)
  4. Powerpuff Girls
  5. Dexter’s Lab
  6. Family Guy (hey, a talking dog AND a baby…that’s damned original, IMO!)

All right…I can’t think of anymore…I guess I don’t watch as many cartoons as I thought. :slight_smile:

Scoobie Doo
Hong Kong Fooey
Whacky Races
Roadrunner
Wren and Stimpy
Goofy
Duckula

1. Advanced Dungeons and Dragons
  2. Snorks
  3. The Littles
  4. Rubik the Amazing Cube
  5. Punky Brewster
  6. My Little Pony
    …oh Ten GREATEST…damn!

Original versions, of course in no particular order

Road Runner
Jonny Quest
Tom and Jerry
Foghorn Leghorn
Bugs Bunny
Daffy Duck
Jetsons
Yogi Bear
Rocky and Bullwinkle
etc

1. Astro Boy
  2. Flash Gordon
  3. Herculoids
  4. Blackstar
  5. Simpsons
  6. Ren and Stempy
  7. Batman: The Animated Series
  8. Superman (The newest one)
  9. Spider-Man (The newer one)
    10.Cowboy Bebop
  10. Not really cartoon series but pretty much any of the older Warner Brothers cartoons and any of the Disney cartoons where the characters team up.