A what to do with my life thread

Hi, this is my first post, but I have been lurking for months, maybe a year. Anyway, the question to bring me out of the woodwork is, in short, what next?

I am 18 years old, I have finished HS (I graduated a year early, so I have actually be done a year, and have taken a few college courses in that time, but nothing significant, and have also spend a year on an eventing farm riding horses) I have so many options (at least it feels that way when I am trying to figure out what to do!) that I am lost in it all. I want to travel, and would love to take this year off (which I am already doing but to work and save money for school, not to travel) and go to Europe and travel (I have family and family friends all through England, Spain, Holland, France, and my aunt has friends in even more places over there that would let me stay with them) I really don’t want to come out of school with 40k worth of student loans either. There is also a job in Holland, that provides complete paid on the job training to become an air traffic controller, to the tune of 36k (American), much more when you are out of training, which is more that I can hope to make in the field I was planning to go to school in (Clinical laboratory Science).

My current idea I am playing with is applying this fall to both the University I would like to attend as well as the ATC job, and if I get in both, get a BS in CLS, then take the ATC job, meanwhile visit Holland a few times to make sure it is a place I want to commit four years of my life to (My uncle has a flat there that he said I was welcome to at any time).

Anyway, I am turning the situation over to the wise dopers to for advice. So, advise.
:smiley:

anyone? :frowning: