Tell me what the next step of my life should be.

Here’s some background information: I am 24 years old and I still live with my parents. They opened a business a few years ago that I help them with. I’m filling in until they can hire a real employee. Because of this, they are not charging me any rent. (I’ve been assured by my father that I have no need to feel like a leech because I’ve helped so much with the business that I earn my room and board. I still feel like a bit of a leech, though.)

My problem is this: I’m in almost the exact same position that I was in 6 years ago after I graduated high school. I have some money saved up, and I have more stuff, but other than that nothing has changed for me. I have not gone to college or taken any steps to really get my life started. I am stuck in a rut and I need to get out of it.

I see two vague paths that I can take and both have their appeal. The first path is the adventurous one. I’d love to travel around the country (America.) Just pack some camping equipment, buy a used car, and see what there is to see. The second path is more sensible. I would work to buy a house and become financially stable so that I retire or semi-retire by the time I’m 50. I saw what my parents went through opening their business and I don’t want to be in the same position they were in. I do not want to turn 40 and say to myself, “Boy, I really should have started planning 20 years ago.”