A Word Puzzle

I made a little word puzzle. Since I’m not very good at this sort of thing it might not be very good but I don’t know what else to do with it so I’ll post it here:

Determine the word that goes in the blank. I can’t say for sure that what I typed is spelled correctly because I sounded it out phonetically. But I am sure of the spelling of the answer.

How is who
Who is we
We is why
Why is _____

Can I ask if it’s related to German somehow?

I can neither confirm nor deny this. :slight_smile:

OK. In an attempt to move things along I’ll answer snoe’s question as no, but you’re getting warmer.

Alright, one other thing. I wish I had wrote the description of the puzzle differently but it was all I could think of.

The part about the spelling is not because I’m a lazy idiot but is actually part of the puzzle. But if I admit that, then it kinda becomes too easy (I think).

What

No.

That’s not it.

You

Well, if it rhymes, the answer would be:

Me.

I had a feeling this might not work real well but I was so excited at coming up with this little thing. Maybe I should have started a thread asking for help in making a word puzzle out of the stuff I came up with.

I don’t want to give up yet… I’m pretty sure that if someone with the right kind of knowledge comes across this they will get it pretty easily. that’s why I thought the SDMB would be a good place for it.

I’ll try to give more hints.

One thing is: some of the words in the puzzle are phonetic representations of other actual words. They are homonyms. That’s why I wrote about the spelling possibly being incorrect.
ETA: also, you can think of “is” as an equal sign.

Acronym route: how = hau; who = hoo; we = oui, wee; why = y, wi

Based on absolutely nothing, is the answer woe?

No.

I meant homonyms before but now that I think about it, are these words acronyms or abbreviations?

No.

Hint: the answer is a foreign (non-English) word.

More clues!!!