Accountants: CapEx vs. OpEx

Disclaimer: I’m an IT guy. I have no accounting background. Please respond using small words and short sentences.

Scenario 1:

A large public corporation decides to implement a new software solution. They purchase a bunch of hardware (servers), storage devices, server software & licenses, scale up their resources knowledgeable in implementing the new solution. Say it costs them $25M for the project. Say by some miracle they get it done on budget.

I imagine that from an accounting point of view this is largely a capital expense and much of the investment can be depreciated over time. Even the consulting fees they paid to extra staff. There may be some ongoing licensing costs from year to year but I suppose those are considered operational expenses, like the various support costs of equipment, additional storage as data grows, periodic upgrades, etc…

Does that sound about right?

Scenario 2:

The same large public corporation decides to implement a new software solution. They don not purchase a bunch of hardware (servers), storage devices, server software, etc. They decide to go with a cloud based solution (like Salesforce, for example). All they pay are user license fees based on whatever solution they’ve contracted from the SaaS vendor. There is very little in the way scaling up their resources knowledgeable in implementing the new solution. Say the prjected cost is $25M for the implementation and services over the next 5 years.

Since there is really very little in the way of asset investment going on, mostly the cost is related to the SaaS licensing, is the expense considered to be largely an operational expense? And if so, is there (much) depreciation to be had? Doesn’t OpEx considered something that comes at the cost of profits in accounting terms? Don’t board members and investors like to see low OpEx margins and mind CapEx much less because it has more tax advantages?