Acer support group?

So I bought an Acer b/c cnet recommended it.

Got a pretty sweet deal on it, too. In reading up on it, I saw somewhere that the support wasn’t hot. When I unpacked it, I realized what they meant. Whereas my Olympus camera had an owners manual in 3-4 languages (i.e. separately bound), this had a quick setup diagram and that was pretty much it.

This is puter #3 for me so I have some experience with setup, but it was problematic. Having used it for about 24 hours now, I like it but being a Vista Virgin and moving up to a widescreen monitor, I have questions. Like, is this as loud as the monitor’s speakers go and why can’t I drive the external speakers as well?

It would be nice to avoid reinventing the wheel each time. Any other Acer users out there?

As I actually have one of these, you might want to check for a bios update. Mine required such because the network card would continually go to sleep, it would take a reboot to “wake it back up” You will also have to note you will be running Vista 64 bit instead of 32 bit. There was a lot of hassle involved with this at the beginning, but it seems 64 bit drivers are catching up. If you are planning on it being a general internet box, medium gamer, write letters, you should be ok. It really isn’t good for really high power gaming. It will be hard to upgrade, I haven’t found any graphics cards that would fit the small openings to place one. no room for extra HDD or DVD bays. Mine seems to work better now, after a whole year, but it wasn’t fun trying to get things to work at first. First thing you should do though, is burn your recovery disks.