ADD Dopers - what do you do for a living? And are you "out" at work?

The only time I went to an ADD support group, there were two other progammers, three people (at least) in education, and one lawyer. I was a programmer, wanting to get into teaching. It makes me wonder if these jobs are better for us, or if it was a coincidence.

So, what do you do for a living; in what ways does it work well for your mind, and are there any things in your job that are especially taxing? Also, does your management know about your ADD?

I’m a programmer, and that’s great for me simply because I enjoy programming. It’s like solving puzzles for a living. Also, whether it’s the ADD or just another quirk of my mind, I have very non-linear thinking, which helps me make connections that other people don’t seem able to make. It is, however, mostly a very corporate job (especially for my particular skill set), and corporations don’t handle people who are “different” very well.

I’ve never told anyone at any job that I had ADD, although at my last job I started telling them that I have “no time sense” and trying to get them to work with at least that aspect of my ADD.

I’m a technical writer. I’m not out at work, partly because my diagnoses was made when I was a child and partly from fear of intolerance. I also work in a corporate environment that prefers all the little cogs to be interchangeable.