advice on asking a girl out who's leaving for univeristy

I have been working at this restaurant for a couple of months and have been working with this girl that I’ve had an instant attraction to, from the first moment I saw her.

We always seem to be on the verge of a great conversation but are always interupted by well. …work. Its really frustrating because we seem to have so much in common. We even have the same sense of humour.

The problem is that she is leaving for University at the end of the week. Its only about an hour away but still. How can I start something now?

My sister tells me I’m better off just asking for her email address and see if we can build something from there. No sense forcing things and risk scaring her off. I have no problem with that, but I would hate to find out later that I’ve missed my opportunity and am now in the friendship zone.

I know, there is nothing wrong with being friends first but I haven’t had this kind of feeling since I was a kid. Am I being stupid here?

Any opinions of this would be greatly appreicated.

How about going out for a casual post-work drink sometime this week? Keep it extremely casual - your aim is not to achieve a relationship in this one week, but merely to get her to keep you in mind. Then you can do the email thing if you want.

Why not say to her ‘I’d like to take you out before you leave for university.’