African Cichlids

Any one here have a lot of experience with African cichlids?

I’ve kept a cichlid tank for several years while living in Phoenix. About two years ago I moved to Cleveland OH. Just about 8 months ago I set up my 50 gallon tank again. Built it using all the same rocks, fluval filter and power head. The only thing different between this tank and my tank in Phoenix is the fish.

My problem is my fish are scared of any movement at all. If I sit across the room and don’t move, they’ll come out and swim around like their “normal.” If there is ANY movement in front of the tank they bolt into hiding spots with the speed of lightening. Guests to my house commonly ask if I have any fish in my tank.

I’ve tried rearranging the rocks to form new spots. I’ve played around with the water temp (slowly) but it’s now about 75 degrees. I’ve even added some rocks to create newer hiding spots. I don’t know what else to do…

Any ideas?

I’m not an expert, but I have kept numerous fish over the years, including Cichlids.

I would WAG there is probably something slightly different in the orientation of the tank (in Cleveland) that they see small movements greatly magnified and bolt into hiding. Whereas your fish in Phoenix may not have seen out the same way.

Maybe a window or nearby lamp could be casting some light in a goofy way that you don’t see.

Lastly it could be the fish themselves. Perhaps the pet store in Phoenix took better care of their stock, and didn’t allow people to bang on the glass. Maybe they’re from a better farm? The Cleveland fish could just be skiddish.

That last paragraph begs a good question though. Are your new fish from a farm or are they wild caught? Perhaps one set of your Cichlids was wild, the other a product of generations of farm breeding.