An honest cry from an agnostic: Witness to me

The subject line must look like the biggest call of “TROLL!” in the world, so I should preface this note by saying that I am not trolling. I hope I can prove that I’m not trolling by interacting and responding to the posters who have the time and the courage to post to this thread.

That said, I’ll give you the background. I grew up in a largely non-religious household, although I suppose my parents were vaguely Christian, even if in the most non-commital sense. When I left for college, I joined a Christian organization… which, upon further review, was scarily close to a cult. Two weeks after I graduated from undergrad, I “lost my faith.” Due to personal reasons, I first said, “Fuck you God, I don’t want anything to do with you,” which then slowly devolved into agnosticism.

I never experienced the “fullness of life” while I was in Christ, and I’ve never experienced the “emptiness” of not having Christ that all Christians seem to think pervades the faithless. But something weird happened to me the other day, something I’m still trying to explore, cope with, and even put words to. I’ll try to explain that experience as best I can. Something (again, personal, sorry) happened, and I just had a gut reaction. I said things, and I acted, entirely without conscious thought. The weird thing is that my “innards,” if you will, acted on the premise that there IS a Higher Power. Almost like, deep down, I know that there’s some Higher Being, but I’ve supressed this knowledge with all forms of entirely secular thought.