Any FrontPage / Windows server gurus: weird folder behavior

First off, a disclaimer: I’m a web designer and do not like FrontPage. Dreamweaver is my favored tool, next to good ol’ EditPad. But it’s not my decision to use FP on one of my client’s websites. The client set up her website using FP97, and she insists on continuing to use it to edit files directly on her server (ugh), so I’m stuck. At least I’ve been able to move to FP2003, which is slightly better. (Generally I make sure to keep the code view visible so that I can easily remove any FP crappy code.)

All this preamble is to say that all y’all FP-haters don’t need to tell me it sucks. Believe me, if I had my druthers, I wouldn’t be using it.

Okay. So the client’s test site recently underwent a change of webhosts. This moved them from a IIS 5.0 box to a IIS 6 box. Now, many of these pages use ASP includes, which used the syntax “<!–#include virtual =”…/assets/filename.txt"–>". Suddenly all of these includes stopped working, and threw up error messages kvetching about the “…/” usage. Apparently IIS 6 doesn’t allow parent paths by default.

I contacted the new hosts about this, and they flipped the switch to allow parent paths. But in addition, the host’s techies went into the client’s files on their own and changed the “virtual” includes references to “file.” I was a little miffed – not that the change was required, but that they went in and futzed with the files without telling us, and did it using a global search/replace. This basically means that now many of our test server files are different from our live site, and I have to check all our folders one by one to see which ones were altered.