Any Fulltime Writers?

So any Dopers here make a living off of writing full time? Just out of curiosity to hear stories about getting where they are. Being out of school I’m looking around trying to decide if the path I’m on is the right one. Writing is something that appeals to me but I don’t know if I could do it full time or not.

I’ve read other’s writings about it but I don’t know any full time writers to actually ask about it and talk about their experiences. So any Dopers got first hand experience to share with me?

Well, I’m not sure if this is what you mean but I used to be. I was a writer (my actual title was “Content Editor”) with the Editorial Team of a Marketing Department of a major national book retailer. I wrote email newsletters, in-store magazines, and online content. I even wrote those little recommendation blurbs you see on store shelves, and every now and then contributed to national advertising campaigns.

In the beginning it was quite an awesome job. We had some degree of creative control and could pursue our own esoteric projects (even though the majority of projects were assigned). Our email newsletters won awards. We thought of ourselves (and our work) as part of branding (creating a brand idenity for the chain) rather than salespeople, and we had fun with it.