Any groups think OJ is innocent this time?

The title is the question: have there been any parties or groups that believe O.J. Simpson is innocent of participating in a gunpoint confrontation with sports memorabilia dealers?

His defense team made the claim that it was just an argument between friends that didn’t constitute a crime. Some people, though none on the jury, agree.

I think OJ is a murderer who belonged on Death Row.

But while I don’t think he’s “innocent” this time, the “kidnapping” charge struck me as bogus, and I doubt he’d have done much (if any) jail time if this were the first time he’d ever been in trouble with the law.

I am not an expert on the law in Nevada but I heard an expert mention that the kidnapping statute in Nevada is much more strict than in other states. In other states he would probably be charged with a crime such as criminal restraint (worded different from state to state). Which is still a serious charge but isn’t as bad as kidnapping. From what I understand he was charged properly under Nevada law.

I’ve been thinking something similar - the kidnapping stuff is ridiculous.

In the UK carrying guns would be a very serious offence, but in the context of Nevada it might not be so unusual.

It looks as if he has been hung out to dry, which he might deserve for past offences - but not for what looks like a fairly harmless bit of idiocy.

My guess is that the sentence will be radically reduced on appeal.

It was not just carrying a gun. It was stealing from a person using a gun. That is armed robbery. The victims were not free to leave due to violence or the threat of violence. In most states that would be called criminal restraint or improper restraint. In Nevada it is kidnapping. Not a harmless bit of idiocy.