Any idea what weapons were being fired in this SWAT assault in Florida?

See subject. Video here.

As a side note, I also found it odd that the window wasn’t breached, or at least covered. But I wasn’t on the ground making decisions, thankfully.

Generally, entry teams use the HK MP-5 in 9mm. Many use the M-4 pattern AR for familiarity to veterans and for better “knock-down” power.

One or more team members will use a short-barreled shotgun as needed.

When I was doing this for a living, I preferred an HK-51 for a little extra “oomph”.

It all depends on the department and what they’re issued. This one sounds like .223, but I can’t be sure.

Cool! Any interest in doing an “Ask the _______” thread?

<Worf voice>
Little?
</worf voice>

Not anymore.

The environment here - with some exceptions - seems to lean rather anti gun and anti Law Enforcement.

Although I spent a few years in law enforcement, I never successfully tickled anyone into custody or shot a gun out of someone’s hand in a darkened apartment while they and I were moving, just to avoid hurting them. That’s what people seem to want.

No one is interested in what dangers cops really face. They bake brownies for firemen, but curse cops if they get a speeding ticket. Folks can name the latest American Idol, but who can name a cop killed in your state in the last 12 months?

My friend Stepwas killed 7 years ago yesterday, and I can still see him right now.
How many of you expressed outrage when that happened?

No, this place is about as liberal as Berkley most days. I’ll pass.

Can you name a taxi driver, store clerk, farmer, fisherman, or logger that was killed in the last 12 months?

Fair enough, and I certainly understand your reluctance to put yourself in the hot seat in this type of environment, but please know that my personal interest in such a thread stemmed from my deep appreciation and respect for what you and your colleagues do. Please accept my condolences for the loss of your friend.