Any public speaking advice for someone really nervous around crowds?

Hey guys,

As a designer, I have been asked to speak in front of my company about 3 principles we are trying to follow to create a better product experience.

I am confident that I have captured what we are doing, but my problem is that I tend to get really nervous, and go really fast through a talk — this one happens to be in front of about 500 people…which totally scares me :slight_smile:

I wrote down some of the points I want to hit, and I figured I would print it out. That way I can force myself to pause, quickly scan for the point if I need to, and keep going.

Is this a good idea? Do you have any advice? Here are my notes:

Friendliness Slide

1. Friendliness makes things seem easier

2. Typographic voice, no calculators

3. Evolving warm palette, feel at home
    Simplicity Slide

4. removing clutter, data-sense, fast, focused

5. Orange buttons, with restraint
    Consistency Slide

6. Consistency is hard, but we’re starting

7. Consistency increases friendliness and simplicity

8. Learn once, experience our product everywhere

Practice, practice, practice. Especially useful if you can do it in front of somebody, but if not, hey, do it in front of your cat. Mentally rehearse it also.

The very first time I ever spoke to a group, I took off my glasses.

Since it was a speech class, I also called attention to it.

“You’d be surprised how much easier it is to lie to people if you can’t see them.”

First speech, first laugh… One of the best moments of my life.

So, to generalize, open with a joke!

1. It’s OK to be nervous. Most people are nervous before a speech. Don’t compound the problem by being upset about being nervous.

2. Be passionate. Get into your topic. Convince yourself it’s the most important thing in the world. Convey this to your audience. Passion hides nervousness.