Any SketchUp Pro users out there?

I’ve been using the free version for a few months now to do some landscape drawings and the like, but I’m starting to feel the limitations (especially printing to scale), and so I’m thinking about doing the upgrade to the pro version.

Anyone out there using the pro version? What do you think? Is it worth the $500? If not, do you have any suggestions for alternatives?

I have it, but I don’t use it much (or do much 3d work at all). I find the interface a bit nicer, and the additional export options are especially nice. The free version supports very complex scripting, though. You might want to check if plug-ins have been written to ad the features you want.

Printing to scale is a big deal. And being able to export to .dwg format, too.

I don’t think the free version can do either of those. Printing is possible, but it’s not very good if you want to print anything large.

Sanders: I sent you a private message.

I have intimate knowledge of the ins and outs of Sketchup pro…basically I bought ArchiCad and LandCad from AutoDesk in 2005, not going to tell you how much that set me back…When Sketchup and Sketchup Pro hit the market I was thoroughly impressed but slightly irked because they made seemingly difficult stuff I did with ArchiCad and LandscapeCad easy and simple to use. I actually phone AutoDesk and they were in a legal battle with google over the rights to this technology.