Any tips on getting into the graphic design field?

I want to pursue graphic design as a career. I have been using Photoshop for a few years, and I think I’ve gotten pretty good at it. However, I know that it takes more than Photoshop, and my opinion on how good I think I am to get a job.

So, I’ve been looking into getting a certification or a degree in the Boston area. I’ve looked into various schools.

But someone mentioned to me that he took an exam for Adobe certification. I looked into it, and it looks like a viable alternative to spending several thousand dollars to going back to school.

I was thinking of trying to achieve certification as an Adobe Creative Suite Master. So my question is, would doing so really be as viable as it seems? Or should I just go ahead and go back to school and try for a certification or degree that way?

Advertising copywriter here.

All of the designers and art directors at my agency studied their craft at a college or trade school. So unless your plan is to schlock together corporate newsletters, I’d WAG that you need proper schooling. Not only will you learn how to use tools like Adobe, but you’ll learn principles of typography, page layout, printing techniques, conceptual thinking, and other critical skills, plus you’ll be able to make contacts in the business along the way.

Good luck!

What Redsland said. A lot of graphic design jobs are acquired via contacts - for every one you see in the paper or online, there will be many more that aren’t advertised, and the non-advertised ones tend to be the better ones. Most schools will also have some sort of placement office that can help with entry-level jobs too.