Anyone trying to quit smoking cigarette this year?

Because I am. Current mood is short-tempered bitchiness. Headache is also really pleasant.

Thought that maybe, if other were suffering, it would make me, well, not happy per se, but, you know: misery loves company. I’ve never tried quitting before, actually, so this is my first withdrawal experience. Needless to say: not enjoying it.

Any idea when the headache ends and me running 10Ks begins?

Obviously, title should read “cigarettes” not “cigarette.”

Probably a bad sign that I can’t type that word without an all-consuming craving for nicotine, followed by an irrational hatred of my neighbor at work. Yes, Dennis. That’s you. I hate you. You studious, quiet, diligent, man, you.

I am! Today is my first day.

I’ve tried quitting many times. The first few days are hard, but it gets easier.

My newest technique was to read Allen Carrs EZ way to quit smoking, and to post signs in my basement (used to be the smoking area) and the door to outside. The signs read: “Don’t Die of Cancer.” I’ve also been paying attention to the anti-smoking ads on TV, when before I would just ignore them.

Anyway, don’t give up. Drink a lot of water and at night, some kind of decaf tea.

I quit recently, back in October. I’ve been using the patches, which have stopped my cravings but still leave me addicted to nicotine. So far, just a couple of lapses, but nothing that made me go back to smoking on a regular basis.

Good luck!

Meow Meow: I have no technique. I’m just trying cold turkey, which, I suppose, in itself, is a technique. Hmm. Anyway, I’m stubborn enough to think I can just quit, probably because I’ve never failed before—fingers crossed. (Also, love your screen-name. It’s what I called my cat when I was 12 and too embarrased to call him by the name my Dad gave him, which was MacCavity, which was from “Cats” and was in fact rather dorky, even in retrospect).

Baron: Thanks. Congrats, as well.