Apple will not repair computers that have been used in smoking environments - Is this a fair policy?

Interesting tibit viathe Consumerist

Sounds like a lawsuit looking for a client. This is seriously lame.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but aren’t all consumer electronics full of toxic substances?

Pandering to anti-tobacco zealots? Trying to beef up their “green” image? (How are they going to reconcile that with all the Mac-crazy hippies with Drum and rolling papers?)

I just asked Snopes about that article. I can hardly believe it!

Holy schmoley. I’m a smoker and programmer who has had various computer components die as a direct result of all the smoking gunk – decreased air flow, increased (sticky) dust build-up, malfunctioning fans, etc. I was all ready to say – sure, it’s fair, so long as it’s indicated clearly to the consumer that smoking presents an abnormal environment (akin to using it in an un-air conditioned topical climate).

But contaminated? Really?

I’d assume that those toxic substances are contained, rather than coating the entire thing. It hardly matters what toxic substances are inside a battery, just as long as you don’t open it.

Yes, I missed the cutoff to add to my post. This sounds like fake news.

That seems so crazy, it’s a little difficult to believe that could be official corporate policy. If it is though, screw 'em (says this long-time Apple user/supporter and non-smoker).

It doesn’t matter what toxic substances are coating a computer, unless you scrape it off and rub it on your mucus membranes.

And you’re just, what, assuming you know the standard Apple Repair Procedures? :smiley:

I just went through the AppleCare terms and conditions. Link to North American T’s and C’s (Warning: PDF filled with legalese)

Would being coated in tobacco gunk constitute abuse? It certainly totaled a VCR that I lent to my father years ago…