Ask the Freemason

Mostly because I’m currently not on speaking terms with my SAN , here is another “Ask the…” thread.

Background - I’m a Freemason (obviously) and member of the Scottish Rite, SJ. I’m no longer a Shriner although I continue to support their charities. (I could devote a thread just to the charities associated with the assorted Masonic organizations, but I don’t want to get TubaDiva mad at me. If we’re lucky WhyNot will pop in with her story)

I was initiated an Entered Apprentice in 1998 at the age of 30 with my brother-in-law (we were both sponsored by his father), passed to the degree of Fellowcraft, and raised to the sublime degree of Master in 1999. I’ve been an officer of the lodge, but never grand poobah.

The big secrets of Freemasonry I won’t share, of course, and I haven’t traveled a lot so I don’t know much about Masonry outside the US. I also know very little about the York Rite, since I’m not Christian.
Any questions?

I can’t speak for others, but how the whole Freemason thing is packaged (hierarchical, have to prove stuff to get to the next level etc) is not half as interesting as what the BIG secrets might be. Are you able to give any kind of hint, category, general area that they are in?
Ex-Scientologists are quite free with the secrets of Scientology, why would a Freemason not be?
What is the gender ratio?
What makes it more than an exclusive club for middle class men?

Forgot to ask one more question:
What do the Freemasons think of The Holy Blood and The Holy Grail and more recently the rip-off book by Dan Brown - seeing as how they are implicated as the modern holders of the “true” heir to the throne of Isreal?

I have long thought about joining the Freemasons along with my friends. We are all in our early 20s. Would there be many other young people in the Masons or is it a mostly older crowd? If so, would the older crowd be accepting of us?