Ask the Mod

I mean ask the SDMB Moderator, that is, not “Ask the Guy Who Dresses Like Austin Powers.” Anything you’ve always wanted to know about what we do or how we do it? I can’t promise I’ll answer every question due to National Security Concerns, but I’ll do my best.

To start with: I’ve been modding here for about two months now. I applied in late 2006 because I wanted to help out here and figured it wouldn’t cost me much more time than I normally spend here. I also believed I had the right kind of temperament to mediate in arguments here, and I think I was correct, although it usually isn’t very complicated.

So here I am, a Mod piñata. Fire away!

…And to head off another question, yes, this is in the right forum even though it’s a discussion about how the board works. :wink:

Do you have to buy your own jackboots?

You had to know this question was coming…

When I applied I told them I already had a pair. I think that’s really what got me in.

What are the meetings like? Is it all party, party, party or are they more like circles of shame with the victim being someone different every month?

Also, is it true what they say about Cecil?

Do you Mods ever get together?

Does being a mod mean that your non-mod behaviour has changed? E.g., do you sometimes think of saying something in a post, then say to yourself, “No – I’m a mod, and shouldn’t say that”?

Do you spend more time here than before? Do you feel a larger sense of urgency to check your email for reported posts, to review your forums for off-topic threads, spam, etc. and to respond to member queries and complaints? Do you feel you have to check in all the time, or is a day away no big deal?

Do you like it? What don’t you like about it?

Do you feel like you have to scrutinize every word, every meaning and possible interpretation for fear of coming off biased or clueless or…wrong?