Ask the Orthodox Jew/ Amateur theologian

Because we haven’t had an “Ask The…” thread in, I dunno, weeks?

I’m a [del] Martian from outer space[/del] practicing Jew from a mostly-religious household.
I’m also an amateur theologian, of sorts. I read a lot about Judaism and Jewish philosophy, everything from why good people suffer to why minute details of ritual matter to why is this night different from all other nights. I can’t claim to have know all the answers, but I’m pretty good at memorizing what I’ve read. Since I’ve seen that a bunch of you have interesting and though-provoking questions on religion, I thought I might try to answer them via traditional Jewish thought.

Disclaimer: I am not a typical Jew, or human being, for that matter. I have a whole collection of psychological, neurological, and emotional disorders. I just want to make it clear that a) you shouldn’t draw conclusions about normal Jewish homelife from my personal background, and B) just because I’m a crazy religious person doesn’t mean that religion is making me crazy. My brain chemistry makes me crazy.

Ask away!

Please explain the Brown Cow (parah adumah). I’ve never understood it.

How now?

Whatever led Manischewitz to believe he could make wine?

Are you Ashkenazic or Sephardic?

I read in Erich Sigels Acts of Faith that an Orthodox Jew is commanded to make love to his wife on Sabbath (or the evening before?) Is that theologiocally correct?

Wow, you go right for the tough stuff, don’t you?

First of all, it’s a *red *cow (commonly referred to in English as the Red Heifer).

Now, this one’s kinda hard to explain because the whole point of it is that it doesn’t make sense. I’ll give it my best shot.