Ask the Self-Injurer

I have reservations about starting this because I consider myself a fairly private person, and this won’t be an easy subject to explain. But I’m curious to know what questions come up. I wonder if it will help me gain some understanding for myself, maybe allow me to see things in a different light.

Mainly, I cut. I haven’t done so in a while, but it’s like alcoholism - it never goes away. The capability, the option is always in the back of my mind.

So…the floor is open.

My sympathies. I have some experience of self harm.

If the question is not impertinent, I’d like to know what exactly goes through your mind just before you make a cut.

Why do you do it? What do you get out of it? I’ve never understood why anyone would find physical pain desirable.

I knew some people who cut, and they made the same comparison to alcoholism. How similar would you say the two are?

How old are you? Where did you cut? Do you have scars? What do you say when people ask about the scars?

Do you mind if I ask how old you are – not even your exact age, just a range … I’m asking because clinical reports of self-injury behaviors are on the rise, and it’s not clear if it’s simply that the reporting that has increased, or if actual incidents are increasing significantly.

The first time you self-cut – was this something you knew other people did?

Thanks for being willing to talk about this. It’s an issue that I hope to gain a greater understanding of.

Is this linked with Depression, or is it a stand-alone situation?

As a follow-up to what Chez Guevara asked, what goes through your mind after you’ve made a cut?