At least I have a hobby outside of the masturbation world, you stupid pussbag

I am a college student. I work half-time in the campus computer labs to help cover expenses. My job requires me to do very little actual work. I sit in the lab and help freshmen open their Hotmail and tell people that they can’t print because the network’s down.

Because I spend next to no time during my shifts doing “work,” I have other things to fill the hours. When the homework’s done and I’ve read as much SDMB as I can possibly take, I like to cross stitch.

Apparently, this makes me some kind of a freak show. Last night, as I sat quietly sewing away in a nearly deserted lab, a small group of exchange students decided the girl behind the desk with the embroidery hoop was the funniest thing they’d seen all week. Pointing and loud laughter were involved.

In the interests of keeping my job (a supervisor was present), I bit my tongue and pretended that each time I moved the needle through the cloth, I was sticking them in the eye. I just fail to see what was so damn funny. I have a hobby. I enjoy said hobby, despite the fact that it is not widespread amongst people my age. I happen to think it’s important that young people learn and practice handicrafts lest the skills involve eventually die out. (A long way off for cross stitch, I admit, but I like to plan ahead.) And damnit, it’s relaxing. I’m making something, and there’s a fair amount of skill involved, but it doesn’t involve much deep thought and the repetitive motion gets sort of soothing after awhile. Come to think of it, those last two things give me something in common with the laughing jerkoffs.

[sub][sup]**NOTE:**I am so proud of myself for tying the “masturbation” of the subject line into the content of the post rather than just using it to attract Dopers to an otherwise mundane semi-rant about jerks who think it’s funny to see someone embroider.[/sub][/sup]