Awesome Interactive Electoral Map (find your county!)

http://elections.nytimes.com/2008/results/president/map.html

Everyone find your county! (Or the one you grew up in, if that’s more interesting.)

Mine’s Curry County on the Southern Oregon coast.

This year, it went 54.4% McCain, 42.8% Obama (the state as a whole went 57.1% Obama, 40.8% McCain). 12,100 voters.

In 2004, the county was 57.3% Bush and 40.8% Kerry. Around 12,700 voters.

In 2000, it was 56.9% Bush and 35.5% Gore. 11,300 voters.

In 1996, it was 43.7% Dole, 38.3% Clinton, and 18% “Other Candidates.” 10,900 voters.

In 1992, it was – oh thank God – 34.8% Clinton, 34.5% Bush, and 30.8% “Other Candidates.” A difference of 32 votes between Clinton and Bush, out of 11,000 cast.

What’s amazing is the swing between 2004 and 2008 in Jackson County, which is where I graduated college. In 2004, Jackson County voted for Bush over Kerry by an 11.9% margin (102,000 votes cast). In 2008, albeit with only 55% reporting so far, Jackson went for Obama by 6.3% over McCain (65,000 votes cast, which projects to 118,000 total). That’s a big difference.

Fascinating stuff.

Maybe I’m really ignorant here, but does Alaska have no counties?

They call them boroughs up there, and parishes in Louisiana. It’s the same thing.

I like the voting bubbles, L.A County and Cook County will clearly be the victors after crushing all the other little bubbles, and will have a death match for ultimate supremacy.

All three counties that I have lived in have always gone blue, even when the state they are in are red:

Broward, Florida
Fulton, Georgia
Sacramento, California

Manhattan:

Obama 490,634 (85.1 percent)
McCain 79,448 (13.8 percent)