Baseball, contraction, and Florida law

ESPN’s Rob Neyer mentioned something I’d heard once or twioce before in his column yesterday:

I gather that Florida has unusually strong state antitrust laws, but I have little idea how they would be used to prevent a team from going out of business, even if it’s part of an (arguably) oligopoly like MLB. Does anybody know what the baseball pundits are talking about here?

Since I’m a lawyer, legal cites would be appreciated, but they’re not required. :slight_smile:

Warning: IANAL

The problem with contracting the Twins was that they had a contract to play in the Metrodome in 2002. I don’t know if a similar problem exists with regard to the Marlins and Devil Rays.

You can’t legislate against a company’s going out of business. If they don’t have money, then they are gone. The argument, I suppose, is that the Marlins and Devil Rays are not really independent companies, but are really part of a larger monopoly called Major League Baseball.

Zev Steinhardt

Yes, but AFAIK, there is no principle of antitrust law that says a monopoly or oligopoly (MLB is much closer to the latter) must remain in business. I can see how moving or being sold might arguably be an antitrust problem for a monopoly/oligopoly, but simply quitting the business would not seem to be a problem. That’s why I’m curious about the specifics of this extra-strength Florida law.

That would be the case, minty green, if the Devil Rays and Marlins were truly independent companies.

However, in this case, it’s not MLB that’s going out of business, it simply wants to excercise it monopolistic power to remove some teams. That, I think, is what the argument is going to be. If MLB, as a whole were going out of business, then Florida wouldn’t have a leg to stand on.

Zev Steinhardt