Baseball scoring question

I suspect that many of the baseball experts here know the answer to this question but none of us in Akron’s Canal Park last night knew how to score the play. In the Akron v. Binghamton game a batter was out when the ball struck him in the field of play while he was running to first base. He had bunted the pitch and the bunt took a weird hop and struck him just after he left the batter’s box on his way to first.

Where’s Keith Olbermann when you need him? “That’s 6-4-3 if you’re scoring at home or even if you’re alone.” :smiley:

According to the official rules opf baseball, you would score with a (2) for the catcher.

(a) Automatic putouts shall be credited to the catcher as follows:

(1) When the batter is called out for an illegally batted ball;

(2) When the batter is called out for bunting foul for his third strike; (Note exception in 10.17 (a) (4)).

(3) When the batter is called out for being touched by his own batted ball;

(4) When the batter is called out for interfering with the catcher.

(5) When the batter is called out for failing to bat in his proper turn; (See 10.03 (d)).

(6) When the batter is called out for refusing to touch first base after receiving a base on balls;

(7) When a runner is called out for refusing to advance from third base to home with the winning run.