Question: Is it a violation if a person shoots a basketball under the bucket on one side and the ball does not touch the
backboard or the rim, the person catches the ball on the other side of the bucket and then shoots the ball to score. Is
this a violation? I know a person can not pass to himself, but a shoot is not a pass. Help me please.
Submitted by: Wyman.Hawkins
Answer: There if no violation when a player shoots for a basket and rebounds the ball even if the ball misses the rim
and backboard. If the player is clearly shooting the ball then there is no violation. National Federation Rule 4-12 player
and team control is define as:
"ART. 1 … A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.
ART. 2 … A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team is in control,
ART. 3 … Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal."
Once a player attempts to shoot the ball for goal, then player and team control ends. The NF case book Rule 4.42B
states:
“PLAY:A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1
runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this traveling? RULING: No. When A1 recovered his/her
own try, A1 could either dribble pass or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try.”
Any time a player shoots the ball for a goal, player control ends. After that as is shown in the case book, the player can
be the first to the ball and is allowed to dribble, pass or try for goal again. There is no violation.
However, if the player is passing the ball, then it is a double dribble. National Federation rule 9-5 states:
"A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is has lost control because of:
Art. 3… A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player."