Basketballs League - Are you fucking serious?

I went to Wal-Mart tonight to support one of my favorite corporations. One of the local youth groups was there selling candy. This group works mainly with kids from the poorer section of town by starting sports leagues. The group had some of the kids out helping to sell the candy. I heard one of them say:

Are these people fucking serious?

1. It is a school night. I am willing to go out on a limb and say that a child that speaks like that is not getting an “A” in English; he should be at home studying.

2. A basketball league? The last thing these kids need is more basketball. I have been a substitute teacher in the school district these kids will one day attend. Basketball is not a problem for these kids. English, math, science, and history are problems for these kids. So why is it that every time a group does something for these kids it involves sports (and/or music)?

3. The candy is too fucking expensive. It is half the price inside.

4. People in this town already think kids from that part of town are ignoramuses who only care about basketball. This group’s actions are not helping - the group is just living up to the stereotype. If this group is going to go out selling candy, they should at least get the kids that can sound reasonably intelligent. Or, better yet, they could start a policy debate league.

When I’m thinking of donating money to school children, the last thing on my mind is “Can I donate less money to someone else, or no one else, if I shop around?”

You know that thing that you have inside that makes you feel kind of queasy when you know you’re about to say something stupid? You really need to pay attention to that more often. “Ignorant Ghetto Child”? Are you insane?

I know where you’re coming from, but, for the love of God, why do you add things that are so inflammatory that people can’t help but respond to it negatively?

Oh, well. It’s your funeral. Enjoy the pyre.