Bathroom Remodel for Newbie Homeowner

I just bought my very first house - a colonial built circa 1750. It’s clearly been redone in the past as I have a small 3/4 bath (sink, shower, toilet) off the master bedroom. The bathroom isn’t very big - maybe 6x10 (I’m not at home so I can’t measure) and desperately needs redone. It currently has a modular shower in it which I’d like to replace with a tile one. The vanity and toilet also need replaced, the floor retiled, and a medicine cabinet put in (I have three bathrooms and not a single medicine cabinet - what’s up with that?).

Being as I’m not even remotely handy and live by myself, I’m going to have to hire someone. Since I’ve never done anything like this before, I was wondering how much to budget for it. I don’t want to go uber high-end but want it nicely done.

Thoughts? Ideas? Advice?

I just had 2 bathrooms remodeled - the one in the basement sounds exactly like yours. My contractor charged $2,200, and I bought the materials myself, which ran to about another $1,200 at Lowes (tile, cement backerboard, vanity, mirror, lights etc…).

On edit - I also had to buy the framed shower door/enclosure. Bought this and had it installed from a local glass company that specialized in showers - this cost about another $700 installed.

Also, get estimates! get at least 3 - more is better. Make sure they are itemized so you know EXACTLY what you are getting for your money. Don’t assume they will paint etc… make sure! You want to compare apples to apples when comparing estimates.

Don’t go with the cheapest unless you have reason to believe the work won’t be crap (i.e. they have done work that you can inspect for people you know etc…).

We kept our modular shower, I don’t like it but I hide it behind the shower curtain. First, it was too big to pull through the doorway in one piece. Second, we feared the nasty floating particles (asbestos? fiberglass?) if we chopped it up.