bicycling...impotence?

whoever-

is there any correlation between bicycling and impotence. i have heard that lots of bike riding can cause impotence. i have a job now that requires strenuous biking for hours on end. will this cause impotence in the future. if yes, how long and how much bicycling does it take? any research on this topic? do those seats with the hole cut out do anything? anything i can do to help out my two “friends” below the belt?

thanks…

I have heard a connection between bicycling and lowered sperm counts which has nothing to do with impotence.

Haj

There have been a number of studies that show that prolonged bicycling can cause impotence. There is a feature article in the May 1, 2002 version of Scientific American but I can’t seem to get it up (hah!) on their website.

The problem arises (hah!) when long, continued pressure on the crotch causes numbness and sexual dysfunction in about 4% of men (some articles mention the pudendal artery- not being a doctor, I don’t even know if such a thing exists).

There was a major article run in Bicycling Magazine (Aug 1997) that caused a bit of a stir. The original research was apparently done by Dr. Irwin Goldstein of Boston University Medical Center. You might try a Google search on something like: bike seat impotence Goldstein.

The answer to this problem is to use wider saddles that place the weight on your arse (ass for you Merkins) rather than your crotch.

hajario As I said, IANAD, but I’m curious. I thought that lowered sperm counts would be a type of impotence? Am I wrong?

Found a CNN article here:

http://www.cnn.com/HEALTH/9806/01/bike.impotency/