Billy Jack?

This movie was in the theaters the year I graduated from high school. It was very popular, and every date night seemed to end up seeing this movie. I probably saw it a dozen times or so in the theaters and drive ins. after the second time, it was obvious that this was pretty bad.

It was on the Sony Movie Channel tonight

Holy crap! What a piece of cinematic shit…

Hey! Whatta you got against shit? He gets one point for consistency: all his BJ pix are the same badness.

Billy Jack was a financial success. The movie didn’t cost much to make and a pioneering technique of local marketing drove ticket sales. Still probably looks like chickenfeed compared to modern movie revenue. It fit the times, the 1970s was weird.

Billy Jack paved the way for guys like Chuck Norris to make movies. Then much later Jean-Claude Van Damme.

Karate movies were mostly Asian stars before Billy Jack. Guys like Bruce Lee made them popular. They were often badly dubbed in English. The mouths didn’t match what was being said.

Watch Easy Rider lately? Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner? The Stepford Wives? Kramer vs Kramer? The Graduate?

Some movies belong to the times they were made in.

It was awful as movie and story quality go, but it did speak to an age fascinated with native spirituality and hippie love and peace ideals.