Blogging advice

I’m thinking of starting a blog, and wanted to get some advice from the great minds of the Dope. I’m pretty much a novice - I know what they are and the general idea, but that’s about it.

Firstly who do I get to host it? I know there are free sites that do this? What’s the best one? I don’t really want to shell out at this stage. Then, apart from just being interesting writing, are there any ways to get people reading / market the blog?

Secondly any advice on subject matter. I’m not wanting to go down the diary entry route. I’m a published travel writer so there will be a lot of travel stories. However I’d also like the freedom to put in other things. For instance science and sceptical thinking stuff (I’m also retraining to be a Physics teacher, so there might be a bit of that as well). Is this spreading myself out too much? Should I stick to just one thing?

Lastly, how much to write. I have a lot else going on (and generally like to be paid for my writing!), so I was thinking of a 2-300 word post weekly or maybe fortnightly. Sound reasonable?

Any thoughts gratefully received.

PS I should add my main reason for doing this is to promote my writing, rather than just a friends and family interest thing, if that makes sense.

I recommend Wordpress. They have a lot of features to help you promote your blog. www.wordpress.com. It’s free. Go to the home site and there’s a big button to click and you’ve pretty much instantly started a blog. (You do have control over when it actually publishes; don’t worry!)

They have a feature called Freshly Pressed where they feature about 10 blog posts a day. If you get picked for that, you’ll get lots of visitors. You can also post comments to other people’s Wordpress blogs and a link to your blog shows up with your comment.

I have found it easy to use. You have to poke around a while before you get the hang of what widgets are and whatnot, but if I can figure it out, anyone can.

Good luck!