BP spreads blame around

BP released a document that spreads the blame around for the deep water well explosion.
They say Haliburton did a bad cementing job . They also did not have a good review procedure or have good Quality Assurance in place. But the BP well design was fine.
Haliburton says they recommended 21 centralizers ,while BP went with 6.
Transocean misread the pressure test reading and did not respond to signs of the blowout. But the BP well design was fine.
This might be the opening salvo in some long court cases to determine what percent of the financial obligations goes to each company. No good for the gulf people can come from this.

I was under the impression that BP was 100% responsible, legally speaking, regardless of whether the subcontractors screwed up. Obviously I’m not a lawyer. Maybe what I heard was that BP was absolutely responsible for the financial costs related to cleaning the spill. Liability from lawsuits might be a different matter altogether.

They may well be responsible for all payments required to sort out the mess (in as far as that’s possible).

However, they can then go looking for recompense from anyone else whose failure led to the problem in the first place.

In such a large and complex disaster involving many subcontractors it’s extremely unlikely that all the fault can be laid at one door.

This one will run and run.

It would be interesting to have a sweep based on when the last case is settled.

What I’ve found interesting is that literally every news story I’ve seen on this is ‘BP tries to pass the blame’. And I’m un the UK.

It seems pretty unlikely to me that such a complex accident involving so many players is entirely BP’s fault, though I agree the buck stops with them regarding responsibility. I have found the tone of the stories quite odd.

$10 on the Apocolypse coming first!

In what way is it strange?