Building a gaming computer and would like critiques on my choices

I’m pretty new to this but I have some tech friends for help when I need it. I’m looking at putting this together:

Case: Cooler Master Centurion 5
Power Supply: BFG GS-550 (550W EPS12V)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E8500
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P (P45)
Memory: OCZ Platinum PC2-8500 2x1-GB **-OR- ** OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar SE16 500GB SATA 3.0 Gb/s
Video Card: Radeon HD 4850 512MB -OR- DIAMOND 4870PE5512 Radeon HD 4870 512MB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card
Sound Card: 8-Channel Integrated
CD/DVD-ROM: Samsung SH-S223F 22X SATA DVD Writer

It’s really the “or’s” I’m interested in. I have a little extra money to spend and I’d like to make sure there aren’t any obvious bottle necking or incompatibility issues I’m missing.

Thanks for any help.

I’m planning a similar build for a machine that can run Illustrator CS4 without a hiccup, so I look forward to reading this thread with interest.

One thing you may want to consider before the DVD writer is how likely you will be to want blu-ray capability sometimes soon.

Even the best (edit: and the Samsung is one, I have two and they can read everything) DVD writers won’t top $30. Most cases, including the Centurion, have plenty of drive bays. Get one now, blu-ray prices haven’t bottomed yet.

For RAM, get the dual-channel 4GB kit.

The rest? Get what you want. Good cpu and video comparison charts can be found here: http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/

I have Sapphire Radeon HD4850 and it can become pretty hot, about 50°C/122°F idle and 70°C/158°F in heavy gaming.

Well, the 4870 is pretty much de facto better than the 4850. Here are some numbers! <http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/gaming-graphics-charts-q3-2008/compare,794.html?prod[2060]=on&prod[2116]=on&gt;