Can I Do This Electrical Thing-Water Heater Recirculating Pump

I know, you’re not my electrician, so noted. I’m hoping for someone passingly familiar with electrical codes. My background is in electronics and I am comfortable working with normal house wiring.

My water heater runs on 240V. That is, there are three wires (not counting ground) supplying this: Line 1, Line 2, Neutral. There is 120V from L1 to Neutral, there is 120V from L2 to Neutral and there is 240V from L1 to L2. So far, this is the way it was dating back to when I bought the house.

I’d like to add one of those recirculating pumps that pushes hot water to the farthest faucet (where there’s a valve that regulates this) and that pump and timer require 120V–at the water heater.

Can I just tap L1 and Neutral at the water heater electrical junction box for this? The power company won’t care about an extra couple amps, but is there anything wrong with going off a line that’s normally–I don’t know–balanced(?) to do so?

I fear I didn’t explain this properly but I hope I’ve made the question clear: Can I effectively add a small load on just one side of the wiring that was run specifically to power my water heater? Electrically I don’t see where it would make a difference but sometimes building codes are strange beasts.

I did this when I installed my central AC unit on our house: I installed a 120 VAC receptacle next to the outdoor condenser unit by tapping into one of the hot lines and neutral. (When I installed the condenser, I also ran a neutral line for the purpose of installing the receptacle.)

Works great! But then someone told me it was not code. :frowning_face: If this is true, I’ll need to remove it if I ever sell this place.

It seems like it would be beyond ridiculous to have to run another feed all the way from the fuse box to the tank just to plug in the timer/pump.

Not that that would necessarily mean anything…