Can someone explain what this person was trying to say to me?

I was at a bar last night, and got into a conversation with the person next to me. When I told him what I did for a living, I was greeted with contempt. When I pressed him about why he had a problem with my occupation, he sneered “You people abuse the rights of the first amendment, then when caught hide behind the fifth.” Then he got up and left.

I’m a developer for PowerPoint. :confused:

Like the ACLU, a lot of people don’t see both sides of what the PowerPoint Institute does and react badly.

It has have been some kind of (drunken) misunderstanding or you are filling us in on what are on those slides of yours.

I think that’s just a really great way to get out of a conversation quickly. I’m going to memorize that line.

Perhaps he just really hates Microsoft.

I thought of that, but…freedom of speech? Computer programs are free speech maybe?

Pleading the 5th? “Microsoft refuses to answer on the grounds that it might incriminate itself”?

Freedom of the press? Maybe he thought PowerPoint was a newspaper? And developers are like reporters?

The right to assembly…language?

Nah, I got nothin’.

Nuke him from orbit, it’s the only way to make sure.

An amazingly large percentage of strangers who strike up conversations are total lunatics who will insult you for no reason. This is one I learned the hard way. Just forget about it.

Well, sometimes PowerPoint talks get pretty boring and long-winded, making one yawningly wonder about free speech and all, but that has nothing to do with your job in development.

It seems he thought you were involved with media/journalism, and spat out his canned tirade. He was just being mightily bellignorant. Shuffle him off your mortal coil…

Your a director for counterpoint?

Obviously he just wanted to fight the Power.