Can we still talk about stocks on the SDMB?

I got reluctant approval to talk about stocks back in 2005. Has there been a change in policy? I don’t want the board to have 1000 threads about buying some hot stock, but I thought some general discussion on the markets would be of interest. If it’s granted, can that also include commodities such as gold and oil?

There’s no prohibition on talking about stocks on the board, and there are lots of threads in IMHO on stocks and the stock market. IMHO would be the place to talk about personal investing. Specific issues concerning the stock market could be addressed in Great Debate, and factual questions about stocks in General Questions.

I have to come about this from a couple of angles.

1. As a moderator, I don’t really have trouble with it.

2. As a licensed broker, I have to say that anyone - like me - who is licensed and those licenses are active shouldn’t participate in any such threads. I know my compliance department would shit if I provided anything like advice in clear on a message board. I don’t know the participants well enough to provide any real worthy advice. In addition, I couldn’t limit my advice to one person so it would create a potential liability between my firm and every single person who read it.

People who are qualified to give opinions and advice wouldn’t be able to do so easily. So what you get is what you get.

I’m a former licensed broker myself. Series 3/4/7/24/34/63

And I wouldn’t be starting or responding to any threads about should I buy XYZ? I’d be more interested in discussing if the S&P will be higher or lower on Dec 31. Or, why is XYZ dropping in price? What’s up with the rise in gold prices? That sort of stuff.

And yeah, when I was working in the industry, compliance wouldn’t have been happy although I doubt the SDMB is in on their radar. They were more interested in those who took to Twitter to gloat over a recent trade or decided they wanted to be Jim Cramer.