Cargo area of hatchbacks

I’m an artist, and often have to transport my art work by car. My current car is a PT Cruiser and, with the back seat down I can fit a 56” x 40” painting lying flat, without having to move the front seat, and still able to close the hatch.

It’s getting to be time to trade in the PT Cruiser, and I’m hoping to find another car with a similar interior area, less than $25K . . . preferably a hatchback, for ease of loading/unloading the art work. All the car sites give the “cargo volume,” but none give the actual horizontal area that’s not taken up by wheel wells, etc. I’m planning to go to the Auto Show at the end of the month, to actually measure the cars.

Any suggestions?

My wife had a PT Cruiser and it was one of the worse cars we’ve ever owned. Her 2012 Nissan Altima has about the same cargo space width and length-wise with the rear seats down. Not so much for height though.

When I was looking for an economical new car, one of the big requirements was that I could put my bicycle in it with only removing the front wheel at most. I went into car dealerships carrying a blanket in one arm and my bicycle over the other shoulder. Car salesmen actually walked away from me! I bought a 2007 Kia Spectra5 wagon.

Your idea of actually measuring is sound. Some of the cars I checked out had more cargo volume than the Kia; however, there were things like rear strut towers in the way. My daughter has a 2010 Kia Soul and was looking for another car. She checked out the 2015 Soul; however, they changed the rear cargo area somewhat which made it somewhat narrower to where they couldn’t put one item they carried into the newer model.

Measure not only the floor area, but the hatch opening as well. A while back I bought a TV from COSTCO and had measured the area on my hatchback and knew it would fit. But the actual hatch opening was smaller and I couldn’t get the box in at all.