Cell phone geeks

Walking around with one’s hands-free headset does not make one cool. Rather the opposite. (Insert scathing insults here).

Yeah, but what about those of us with a palm pilot built into the phone? I mean, I get to walk around with a hands-free earbud and a palm stylus, so that I can walk, talk, chew gum and check my calendar. Now am I cool? :slight_smile:

I made a decision years ago never to carry my cell phone on me except in the car. I’m the only person in the office who doesn’t carry one, and yet I am every bit as accessible as anyone else. Unless you’re a doctor, there just is absolutely no reason in the world you need to have a phone on you at all times.

Actually RickJay, I think I’ll have to disagree with you. I’m a computer consultant, and I have customers that rely on me. I always have my phone with me. I don’t generally carry my hands-free around with me, with one notable exception. I will carry it in a grocery store, as invariably, somebody will end up calling while I’m shopping, and it really sucks to try to steer a shopping cart with one hand. But it hadn’t occurred to me that someone would wear their hands-free in order to look ‘cool’. In that respect, I agree with the OP. They’re pretty silly-looking. But useful, and at times, necessary.

And in the real world few people do. Sounds to me like the OP is simply a jealous whinge.

People walking around talking on hands-free cell phones look for all the world like nutcases having long involved discussions with themselves. Cool? Maybe not, but entertaining? You bet.

Amen to that! I was once at a conference, and walked into the restroom to find a woman just inside the doorway, staring at me intensely and saying something like, “Is it at all possible that someone else could take care of this???”