Chess: glee v Mosier

This is a training game (I’m a retired professional chess coach) and hopefully will interest spectators as well.

Mosier can:

• take a move back (if he happens to blunder horribly, I’ll point that out!)
  • ask my advice on his next move
  • ask questions about strategy + tactics
  • read my running commentary on the game

I’d prefer he didn’t use a computer (I do practice against them, but this is about Mosier learning for himself) and I don’t think spectators should make suggestions (for the same reason.)

The game idea came from this thread:

http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?p=14531263&posted=1#post14531263

I’ve got White (I’m going to play Candyman 74 as Black in another thread as well) and will move next post.

We’ll be using algebraic notation - see here for an explanation:

I hope some kind soul will put up board diagrams along the way (very helpful.)

OK, opening principles for inexperienced players (as Mosier describes himself):

• control the centre (d4,d5,e4,e5), because it allows access to all parts of the board
  • develop your pieces (don’t move the Queen all the time)
  • get castled (it protects your King, especially when the centre opens up)

There are four popular and widely-played opening moves:

• e4
  • d4
  • Nf3
  • c4

There are other moves, but beginners should avoid them. Stick with the best!

I like…

1. e4

Mosier, you have a choice of trusted replies:

• e5 (solid)
  • c5 (rapid counter-attacking)
  • e6 (very solid)
  • c6 (solid but more interesting)
  • d6 (eventual counter-attacking)

Riskier, but also played:

• Nf6 (instant counter-attacking)
  • d5 (dodgy, but avoids main lines)

I’ll play the move I’m most comfortable with

1. e4 - e5 (is that notated correctly, to include both white and black moves?)

initial thoughts-