Co-op living

I’m a broke college student looking into my housing options for next year, and I’m thinking about living in one of the many co-op homes around the area in order to keep costs down.
I think of myself as pretty tolerant of most types of annoying behavior (sloppiness, being loud, eating the oreos that I bought for me without asking), as long as people are rational about discussing how to handle the situation next time.
If any of you dopers have ever lived in a co-op, let me know your opinion of the situation and how it fit with your personality.

Not sure if it is the kind of co-op you are talking about, but I used to live in an intentional community on Staten Island, New York.

I would recommend communities in general, and Ganas in particular, to anyone open to new things and unconcerned about the negative images (e.g., lazy, pot-smoking freaks) some people may have of communities.

I’m living in a student co-op right now and I like it quite a bit. For us it is not so very cheap. We are paying off the mortgage on the house (which was bought a couple years ago, before my time).

We are unusual I think, many co-ops are much cheaper. In any case I would say our rent is about on par with the rents in the University area and you probably save money on food here.

I think it is well worth it here. The people here are very cool and every night we cook dinner which most of the housemates attend. So the conversation is usually pretty good. We take care of each other, when one of my housemates sprained her ankle everyone helped her out. Driving her to school for example.

A lot of the places in my area call themselves co-ops but do not own the place where they live. These tend to be cheaper than our co-op, also more informal generally.