Cooking with roux in a crock pot

I am making beef stew (organic local meat only!) tomorrow in a crock pot, so it will cook for 8 hours. (I’ll start the crock pot at noon.) I have done all the prep work tonight, including making about 2 cups of Tony Chachere’s instant roux. I bought the stuff today while at the store because I wanted the stew to be thicker, and not just beef soup with chunks of vegetables. I also made Mirepoix to go in the stew.

My question is: should I put the roux into the crock pot tomorrow with all the other ingredients (cubed meat, mirepoix, red wine, etc), mix it all together and then start the cooking - or should I put the roux in after the stew is already cooked?

How do I make sure the roux mixes smoothly with the stew?

Thanks.

I’ve never used instant roux before but this site says you can wait until the end to add it, just be sure to mix the roux in a separate container and whisk all the lumps out before you add it to the stew.

I just made a stew recipe from Cooks Illustrated in my crock pot, and it used quick cooking tapioca as a thickener. I think a tablespoon or so? I dumped it in with the rest of my ingredients at the start of cooking and stirred it around. Absolutely could not tell that it was in there.

Another thickener you could use at the end is cornstarch (I think). Put it in a small jar with some water and shake it vigorously to combine. I think it might be easier to mix in than a roux, but I’m not certain.

I would mix the roux with some water or stock and put it in at the beginning with everything else. You CAN put it in late, but there’s really no reason to wait, and it will absorb and combine with the flavors better if you put it in at the beginning. It will also add better color.

I would never use instant roux, though.