Copper ball claims

I won’t provide a link to it(if you wish to look for it, it is called the “Trance Metals Solid Ooligodynamic Copper Sphere”), but there are adverts on Facebook and elsewhere for a 99.9% pure 1 kilogram copper ball that claim that merely holding the ball will kill germs. Is this fact, or fiction?

Copper does have antimicrobial properties and has been used for that purpose for a very long time. I don’t know how effective juggling a copper ball would be, but the underlying claim is not woo.

I’m gonna WAG it’s fake.
I have no real knowledge of it or a cite.
But that copper bracelet and those copper infused socks and sportswear are fake.

Even the stupid copper skillet doesn’t work. I ordered that and it’s junk.

Copper is new fun thing to add to anything these companies think. I even saw copper infused dog collars.

It is true that bacteria do not grow on copper doorknobs, but they do flourish on your hand. Even if holding a ball tightly for a couple of hours did affect them slightly, it would be much faster, as well as actually effective, to just wash your hands and maybe use some alcohol or chlorhexidine afterwards.

There’s a pretty extensive Wikipedia article summarizing the research on the antimicrobial properties of metallic copper surfaces. This is more with a view to using copper alloys instead of (say) stainless steel for work surfaces in the healthcare industry.

So if you hold a 1kg copper ball for an hour, no doubt it will kill some germs on your hands; but I’d wager 30 seconds washing your hands with soap and water is more effective. Likewise, dropping a 1kg copper ball on a mouse would probably kill it with a direct hit; but a mousetrap is probably a more reliable method.

Copper salt solutions are also commonly used as a fungicide, copper solutions are officially “organic”, for what little that’s worth. Copper is much more toxic to bacteria and fungi than to plants or animals.

I saw some copper electrical cables and they work great…