Crafty/robotics/battery-movement help needed.

I’m working with a friend to drag another friend into the wonderful world of cosplay (yeah, I know) and we’ve promised that if she is willing to dress as Rocket, one friend will make the costume, and the other (waves sheepishly) will make a battery-operated baby Grootling in a pot for her to carry around. If none of that made the slightest sense, it’s characters from the most recent Marvel movie: Guardians of the Galaxy, and yes, we’re all aware that we’re giant dorks, thanks for sharing.

So, even if she doesn’t end up doing the costume, I sort of love the idea of having a Grootling on my desk, and I want to work with electronics and batteries and wiring and shit to further my cosplay cred/background.

But I have ZERO experience there. I looked at those little solar-powered wiggle plants, but 1) solar powered won’t work, 2) they’re TEENY, 3) everyone else is making Grootlings that way, and I want to be different.

I know enough about wiring from doing house projects that I can manage the battery/wiring power-supply end of things without setting myself or the project on fire, but I have no clue how to even research what sort of electrical circuit thingies I need to attach that will make a fairly light wire-form person dance around somewhat rhythmically. I’d rather not do a computer chip, as my computer savvy is set at ‘I can sometimes fix HTML with google’s help.’

Some electronics tech person has to know what I need. Ten years ago, I would have gone to Radio Shack, but now? Haha.

Help please?

(I’m not using those horrid air blowy tubes because they’re made of satan, also too big, also too loud, but mostly because they’re satan.)