Croissant misery...

Help me bake croissants! Is there a tried and tested recipe you can recommend, or are there any tips you can share?
I’m a pretty good baker, things turn out well and taste good but I can’t get a handle on croissants. I’m determined to crack this!

I am of no help, but I will note that from what I remember famous chef and font of swearing Gordon Ramsey couldn’t quite get the hang of it himself.

One basic tip the professionals give is that you must not let the butter melt (during the preparation)

Croissants are difficult to make even for experienced bakers. Can you tell us exactly what is wrong with your croissants? Are they dense and not flaky? Do they the lack flavour? Are they not browning evenly?

The number one advice I can give when making croissants is not to skimp on butter, both in quality and quantity. If possible, use beurre sec because it has higher fat content (hence lower water content) which will result in flakier croissants that rise nice and high. Personally, I prefer baking with Echiré but if you can keep the water content to under 15%, any beurre sec will do. (Unsalted of course!) And make sure to work quickly. You don’t want the butter to warm up and soak up the flour. Laminate the dough so what you have are nice thin layers of butter encased in dough.

Another hint is to proof your croissants for at least two hours in a warm humid room. This will help them get puffy and you want them to be a bit wobbly. The proofing helps keep the butter in and won’t leak out when baking.

Croissants are definitely a challenge but oh so delicious when done right.
Good luck!

Christopher Kimball, of America’s Test Kitchen, and Chief Editor of Cook’s Illustrated says there are three things he will never try to make at home again: baguette, brioche and croissant. The work involved is just not worth it, particularly if it fails. As he says, “even the French don’t make their own; that’s why they have bakeries.”