This was going to be in the pitt but I can’t be bothered.
I had a World of Warcraft account several years ago but never really got into it and let the whole thing lapse. About a week ago I got an email saying someone else had logged into my account with their email address. So I went through the support process to reinstate the account in my name. At the same time I changed my email passwords and a few other things in case they were the same as the battle.net account. That all went ok, until I got another email saying the same thing had happened, the same email address had been associated with my account. I did the account recovery again but this time after the account was recovered I went into the account itself and changed a few settings, added an authenticator etc. I also found that I now have a Korean version of WoW associated with my account, my account was defaulting to the Korean support web pages, and my battletag had been changed. Apparently this can only be changed once, and it’s been changed to something completely meaningless. Fuckers!
I was going to close the account completely but it seems this might not be straight forward.